1. Game of Thrones starts tonight (!!!!!) and we’ve got all the books, games and gear you need to feed your obsession.

     
  2. Ideas for fans of George R. R. Martin, Reza Aslan, and more in our latest round of Ask a Book Buyer recommendations: http://powells.us/17niDQf

     
  3. Another excellent reason to ALWAYS READ THE BOOK.

     
     

  4. "Just as you grieve if a friend is killed, you should grieve if a fictional character is killed. You should care. If somebody dies and you just go get more popcorn, it’s a superficial experience isn’t it?"
    — George R. R. Martin (via asterrifique)
     
  5. Have you entered our signed editions giveaway?

    You could win 19 author-signed books—including titles by Diane Keaton, Toni Morrison, Dave Eggers, Molly Ringwald, and more.

    Hurry up! The call for entries closes next Wednesday, Oct. 31: https://www.powells.com/2012signed/

     
  6. We LOVE this…

    Arya Stark wouldn’t dare put up posters to look for her lost direwolf Nymeria, not after that incident with Joffrey’s arm, but if she thought she could get away with it (and if Sansa was willing to do the illustrations), perhaps her lost wolf poster would be as charming as Maritsa Patrinos’.”

    via io9

     
  7.